Modern Pentathlon

The Modern Pentathlon is a military sport in the Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM). The Modern Pentathlon is in general an Olympic sport that
comprises five events: fencing, 200 m freestyle swimming, show jumping, and a final combined event of pistol shooting, and a 3200 m cross-country run. The sport has been
a core sport of the Olympic Games since 1912, and since 1949 an annual World Championship has been held.

Originally the competition took place over four or five days; however in 1996 a one-day format was adopted in an effort to be more audience-friendly. However, modern pentathlon,
despite its long Olympic history, has had to justify its inclusion in the modern Olympic Games on frequent occasions. On February 11, 2013 in Lausanne, the IOC confirmed
modern pentathlon once again as one of the 25 core sports of the Olympic program through until 2020. The governing body, UIPM, administers the international sport in more than
90 countries in all the continents of the world.

CISM Sports Committee Modern Pentathlon

Col Nilton Gomes ROLIM Filho (BRA)

Tel.: (+351) 229 370 213

Mobile: :(+351) 960 483 636

Av. Dom Afonso Henriques 1786 – 2o Direito –
Pentathlon Matosinhos 4450-013


If you want to know more about the history of Modern Pentathlon – klick here
The rules of Modern Pentathlon can be found here